Queensland Division and Branches

Queensland Division and Branches 2019/2020, prior to 2020 Annual Assembly of Delegates.

The Queensland Division is an autonomous association and was incorporated by Letters Patent on the 17th of October 1946. It is the only division of the RAAF Association incorporated in this manner, all of the other divisions being incorporated under the relevant Acts within their States or territories.

  1. Letters Patent are administered by the Premiers Department of the Queensland Government
  2. Incorporation Acts are administered by the Office of Fair Trading within the relevant State or Territory.

The controlling body of the Queensland Division is the State Council and the guidance of the State Council and governance of the Division is in the hands of the State Executive. The primary document containing the guiding principles that govern the Division is the Queensland State Constitution supported by a set of By-laws. Where additional guidance is necessary, reference is made to the Guide for Meetings and Organisations, Vol 1 – Guide for Voluntary Associations written by N.E. Renton.

There are seventeen (17) active branches in the Queensland Division and six branches (Mackay, South Burnett, Gold Coast, North Brisbane, Rockhampton and WAAAF) currently in recession.

The active branches are shown in the next column.

Current President of Queensland Division: Mr Ted Mildren CSM WOFF (Ret) 2019 

Immediate Past President of the Division: Mr Lindsay Bennett WGCDR (Ret)

Patron: Mr Michael Bryce AM AE

Current State Executive

The State Executive is obliged to:

  • carry into effect, the directions of the State Council;
  • uphold the constitution; and
  • provide good governance of the Division.

The State Executive must also exercise further powers and superintend any business affairs of the Division as may be delegated to it by the State Council.

Executive Members

The State Executive is elected at the Annual Assembly of Delegates and comprises the following members:

President of the Division (State President)
Deputy State President – Mr Stewart McCool
Area Vice Presidents;

Northern – Mr Lindsay Gordon

Central – Mrs Rosslyn Richards

Moreton – Mr Phil Symonds

Sunshine Coast – Vacant

South Eastern – Mr John Griffith MBE

South Western – Mr Graham Thomas

State Secretary
State Treasurer

The Assistant State Secretary and the Assistant State Treasurer are elected at the Annual Assembly of Delegates but are not members of the State Executive.

Page updated: 9th February 2020